Healing Hands

“We may think we have little to offer, but our hands (our presence and attention) can mend wounds and participate in God’s ongoing work to heal the world one person at a time.” (ODJ, 14th July 2017)

I was reading my devotion on the bus this morning. As I read to the end, that last sentence just hit me.

For the last few days,  I’ve been busy preparing for the upcoming fundraising event for our (OCF) next homeless run. At first I was excited as I was discussing my ideas etc and showed the budget that I’ve prepared to my friend who’s setting up the stall on that day. But I felt a bit discouraged because it seems like an impossible task. I shopped around to find the cheapest deals I can find regarding warm clothing e.g. beanies, socks, gloves, scarves and disposable containers for the food but the amount that we need to raise is just over $800 to feed/provide for around 40 homeless people.

I guess today’s devotion just reminded me it’s the thought that counts. The fact that we are not ignoring the homeless people living on the street is what really matters. So I should stop stressing and worrying about how much we can raise. But most importantly to trust God to use whatever He provides to bless those who are less fortunate than us.

Would greatly appreciate your prayers for the upcoming fundraising event happening on the 22nd of July. 🙂

 

To read today devotion: https://www.ourdailyjourney.org/2017/07/14/healing-hands/

Leave a Reply

