Knowing God’s Will

I don’t really know why whenever someone asks me why I changed my major, they looked more upset than me, haha. Well, it’s actually a good thing and I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to see and experience Proverbs 3:5-6 happening in my life.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart.
Do not depend on your own understanding.
 In all your ways obey him.
Then he will make your paths smooth and straight. (NIRV)

When I was deciding what I should study at uni, I managed to narrow it down to about 3 options. I really wanted to study nutrition/food science but there were limited jobs available if I graduate with that degree. Since I couldn’t go down that path, I decided to go with Music (my next passion). When I was preparing for the audition, I prayed that God will make it clear to me/to know if it’s His will to pursue Music, by helping me pass my audition. To my surprise, I passed the audition stage, I was pretty excited when I received my admission letter. I enrolled into the music degree but after halfway through my degree, I don’t know how or why but I felt that I reached a ‘dead end’. The lecturers and tutors were great but I could no longer see myself pursuing music anymore. I was confused and unsure of what I should do next.

So during the July holidays of 2015, I took the time to pray and also went to my church’s library to borrow some books about knowing God’s will. During that period of time, I felt that God was telling me, “Why not both?” Huh? I asked God what do you mean by that? Then straight after that as I was scrolling through Facebook, I saw this music event and the presenter was an Asian lady (just like me). She works in the business sector on the weekdays and on the weekends she teaches piano at home. I wasn’t sure if that’s what God was telling me to do (because at that time, I didn’t have any students) or was He telling me to continue music as a second major.

When semester resumed, I also went to see a Career Advisor to see what they got to say. The key thing they told me was, “Just because you’re not doing it as a major, doesn’t mean you should give it up completely.” I also remembered when the lecturer announced that one of the assessments for a music unit was to write a letter to our future self and describe how this music unit has helped us with our careers today. I think that was the moment I realised I couldn’t answer that question. I remembered walking out of class because I was feeling so overwhelmed. And that was the last time I ever walked into that class. Trying to switch my Music units to Bachelor of Commerce was tough, especially when I already missed 2 weeks of classes. When I was still hesitant whether to switch or not, looking back, I have discovered that God is pretty good at opening and closing doors. I received an invitation to a luncheon event organised by CPA which was really surprising as I wasn’t a commerce student yet. (Oh I almost forgot to mention, in my 2nd sem of uni, I took an introductory accounting unit as broadening unit. I was doing better in accounting than music, so at that time I did consider taking accounting as a 2nd major.)

It wasn’t easy for me to switch to accounting, I had a lot ‘debates’ with God. The key thing for me was that study accounting is more expensive than music, plus I have to pay for books (whereas in Music, I can just borrow from the library). Not to mention, I’ll have to study 3 law units to meet the prerequisites for CA/CPA qualification. And law books are updated every year. As a poor student, I can’t really afford buying new books every year. I told God if I were to switched, you will provide, right? True enough, God is a loving & faithful God. I’m really thankful that when I had to buy brand new books I managed to get them for half the price (and they were still wrapped in plastic)! And He has blessed me with really great friends/classmates to study accounting & law together.

Another issue when deciding to change my degree was how do I arrange my majors? Like should I still keep music, but as a 2nd major or just straight commerce? Well, I didn’t really want to prolong my degree, so I just did accounting as my only major. Which leads to the next question, with so many commerce students around me who are doing a 2nd major in Finance/Business Law etc, how can I get a job with a single major?

I was really blessed to take part in a career compass program organised by an accounting firm when I was still a music student. It was a good opportunity to ask questions and find out what career options were out there. Then we had the opportunity to apply for an internship with them, it was a long process (and I was still a Bachelor of Arts student in the process of transferring to BCom) which is why I was so surprised when they gave me the chance to spend my summer break with them. I’ll be starting my CA next year which I’m so thankful for but at the same time I am quite worry because I’m not sure how I’m going to balance my studies while working full time, but I trust that God will sustain me.

Looking back, one thing God showed me when I was trying to find out what is His plans for my life, is by lining up circumstances in obvious ways. “And God often uses closed doors to show us clearly what He does NOT want us to do. And He also uses open doors at times to show us what He DOES want us to do. Of course, this does not mean that every open door is definitely God’s plan, but it does help to give you some basic direction.” Taken from: http://www.christianitytoday.com/iyf/hottopics/faithvalues/how-do-i-know-gods-will.html

I totally agree with this quote, after completing my 1st year, the uni offered me to transfer to Bachelor of Philosophy (Honours) which I turned down because personally I didn’t feel that was the road that God wanted me to take. It seems like a pretty full on course and if I took up that offer I probably wouldn’t have the time to serve Him in the ministries He has called me in today.

God has created all of us to fulfill a specific role in this world. There is no one else who can achieve completely what God has purposely created you to do.

The Apostle Peter gives us this admonition:

1 Peter 4:10

As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.

I did a personality survey last week (since I was bored). I was pretty amazed when I realised why God has called me to study accounting instead. My personality test result shows that my personality was a good fit to be an accountant. Wow! God know us so well that He has gifted every one of us to perform a special mission for which we alone were created. How amazing is that?

“So, when you seek to discover God’s will for your life, pay attention to how He has gifted you. His plan for you will always be directly related to the gifts that He has bestowed upon you. The great news is that you will automatically be good at whatever it is that He has called you to do!” Taken from: http://www.biblestudytools.com/blogs/chris-russell/8-keys-to-knowing-god-s-will-for-your-life.html

Hope this blog post has encouraged you! And take heart for we have a great and loving God who is waiting to reveal to you what He has in store for you. 🙂 God bless you as you trust in Him!

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. (Matthew 7:7-8)

Leave a Reply

