Love Them with Me

I’m currently working on another Q&A for my blog, but as I was reading today’s devotion I felt that God wanted me to share about my experience organising and going on my very 1st homeless run with the OCFers. Here’s the link to read today’s ODJ devotion: https://www.ourdailyjourney.org/2017/07/07/love-them-with-me/

To be honest, I can’t really remember why I decided to organise the homeless run this year (especially when I’ve never been on one last year) but when I was organising Missions Week for OCF, this verse came to me in the mail:

“Let us not love with words or speech, but in actions and in truth.” 1 John 3:18

So I was like hmmm maybe God wants me to give the OCFers an opportunity to put that verse into practice. Looking back now, I really believe that it was His will/calling for the OCFers to go on a homeless run back in May.

The meat that we originally planned and bought to use for an event on campus was used to bless the homeless people instead (due to last minute changes from the organisers). On that night, while we were handing out food, some strangers were approaching us. At first I thought they wanted some food from us but nope, instead they gave us even more food from their conference so that we can bless even more people.  Indeed, thanking God for His provision.

“What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that?  So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.” (James 2:14-17)

Thanking God for His word of encouragement while planning for homeless run. As I read more on the topic of homelessness, I became more anxious and worried. But the day before the homeless run (on 10th May) I read my devotion, the key verse from ODB was taken from Joshua 1:9,

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Thanking God for sustaining me with His strength that day. I had an early start at uni at 8am and finished class around 4pm, then straight after class I joined the rest of the LC and my fellow OCFers to cook for the homeless people. I can’t deny I was pretty exhausted that day but it was really worth it. That night during the homeless run, it breaks my heart to see the number of homeless people and how they had to sleep on cold concrete or out in the cold without a roof over their heads. It has taught me to be grateful and be content with what I have.

Thankful for everyday needs.jpg

Lately it has been really cold and rainy, I feel helpless that I can’t really do much but pray that God will provide their needs. But I am looking forward to return with more OCFers next sem and to give out more warm food + clothing. Praying that our upcoming fundraising (which is happening in 2 week’s time) will go well so that we can bless more homeless people. 🙂

I’ll end with a quote from today’s ODJ:

Whether we’re struggling through our own pain or weighed down by the suffering of others, we can take comfort in God’s sure promises in Psalm 12 to be with and deliver the oppressed. Even if we can’t easily see how, we can rest assured that our God is working to rescue the poor—perhaps even using us as part of His loving, restoring work.

Leave a Reply

