Part 4: H.I.S. Mission

“Christians have been given a cause far more important than saving the baby whales, the spotted owls, the rain forests and yes, even the cave beetles.”

I like how Vicki Courtney shared in her book Cherish (which I’m currently reading) on the topic of “Why are you here? God’s Purpose for your Life.”

This fits in well with Box 4: Mission/Future.

Jesus said to His disciples, “Go into all the world. Preach the good news to everyone.” (Mark 16:15)

Nations Discliple

Those were the very last words Jesus said before He was taken up into Heaven.

Just as Jesus entrusted His 11 disciples to share the good news that Christ has paid the price for our sins, He has called each one of us (not just pastors, missionaries etc) to do the same thing.

As followers of Christ we are called to carry out H.I.S. Mission.

H.I.S. stands for:

HIS

My church’s 2015 Mission Statement

 

We are called to be His ambassadors! As a representative of Christ, it is our duty to imitate His character and His love towards each other. (Yeah, that includes our enemies (Matthew 5:44) because we were once enemies of God but He chose to love us and forgive us.)

Well, you don’t have to be a missionary or go to a foreign country in order to serve the world. You can do so where God has placed you at this very moment. Your mission field includes your school/uni, workplace, neighbourhood/community.

For me as a student, I’m thankful that I can serve Him at uni where God brings the nations to my doorstep. #UniMentor #OCF 🙂

Yes, I know it can be scary going up to your friends or even to strangers sitting next to you on the bus and tell them about Jesus Christ. But God has given us the Holy Spirit to help us on what to say.

Sometimes actions speak louder than words. Just a simple act of kindness can lead your friends, classmates, neighbours, colleagues or even strangers to Christ. I was really amazed and thankful through God’s help that I managed to invite a stranger I met on the bus to OCF the very next day. You can read it here.

The key message is:

We must break the silence and bring Christ’s message to a dying world.

Therefore, BE BOLD AND COURAGEOUS in sharing about the Good News to the people around you!:)

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9 NIV)

“You Make Me Brave” by Bethel Music & Amanda Cook has given me the courage to make Him known and I hope it will encourage you too!

I pray that God will give you opportunities, courage and wisdom to do H.I.S. Mission! 🙂

Annalisa

Related post: How Can I Break the Silence?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

