Part 3: Leaders Need Mentors Too

Hello again! Thanks for tuning in today! Sorry for the delay, had a busy weekend helping out with my church’s youth! But I believe it’s a good thing we had to wait, as I just received an email yesterday saying I’ve been accepted to be a mentor to welcome new freshers next semester! More on that later…

Now let’s continue on with Box 3: Time with Leaders. From what we’ve learnt in Box 2, Jesus does some pretty amazing things after spending time alone with the Father ( Box 1). But did you know that Leaders need Mentors too?

“You’re going to wear yourself out—and the people, too. This job is too heavy a burden for you to handle all by yourself. Now listen to me, and let me give you a word of advice, and may God be with you.” (Exodus 18:18–19)

Jethro had watched Moses at work and saw that he was taking on way too much. Moses spent every day handling the disputes of all God’s people . . . all day. So Jethro, like a good mentor, offered his son–in-law some leadership strategies that would empower other leaders in the community, serve the people more effectively, and give Moses some space.

Like Moses who learned from Jethro’s insight, just because we have a call to leadership doesn’t mean we automatically know everything. I know I don’t. Strong leaders are lifelong learners. There are those around us who have seasoned leadership skills that can only enhance what we do. Their strategies can make us more effective and their insights can grow our leadership capacity—if we let them.

Recently at the OCF Winter Camp, I was asked to be a Group Discussion Leader. At first I was a bit hesitant because this was my first ever OCF Camp and I don’t really know what to expect. Also I already agreed to be one of the Worship Leaders so I wasn’t really sure whether I can cope with an additional leadership role. (Even though they said I’ll have an Assistant Leader to help me.) Thankfully when I told the Camp Committee about my situation, they were really understanding. I told them I was happy to serve as an Assistant Leader instead, so that I can learn to be a better leader in the future. I’m really thankful for my Leader for being very encouraging and supportive and gave me the opportunity to lead the devotion on the last day at camp.

And every night after our sessions, all the leaders gathered together with the Camp Commandant. Even though it was past my bedtime, it was definitely a time well spent learning from each of the leaders and encouraging one another! Especially on the final night there, I was surprised to hear that most of the leaders also felt inadequate or they were new to this role! The Camp Commandant told us we were prayerfully selected. This emphasised what we’ve learnt during camp, that it is important to involve and train new people to take up leadership roles!

Christian Mentoring.jpg

Have you ever been part of a small group that were intentionally involved in training and development?

Who provides a fresh pair of eyes for your situation, sharing leadership wisdom?

Whether you are currently in a leadership role or will be in the future, I pray for one gift for your leadership journey: a mentor. A mentor who will help you discover and realise your potential. Someone who offers perspective, reminding you of your purpose here on earth, no matter what the cost. A mentor with a fresh pair of eyes and insights that make you a better leader. A person who is willing to take a risk on you, opening up new frontiers of opportunity and wider influence. And my prayer, too, is that one day you’ll mentor other leaders. =)

Mentoring

Join me for the finale of my OCF Winter Camp Reflection, Part 4: H.I.S. Mission (You’ll find out what the abbreviation stands for!)

I also plan to write about my Mentoring journey with you in the near future! So look out for that too!

Until then, take care & God bless,

Annalisa

Some sections about mentoring taken from: Why Leaders Need Mentors . A good read, highly recommended! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

