Part 2: Serving the King of kings

Hi again! Welcome to Part 2 of my OCF Winter Camp reflection! Today I’ll be sharing about Box 2 – Time with People/Crowds.

Have you ever felt like Jonah? Or Moses? Where you felt like running away from what God has called you to do because you felt inadequate to do the task He has specifically entrusted you to do?

I know every Christian is called to share the Good News with the people around them. But at the start of this year through my suffering, I felt that God has called me to be an evangelist, in particular a “Social Media Evangelist”. I enjoy sharing about my journey with God through my blog, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

There are definitely challenges that I need to overcome and times when I doubted, especially when I’m still so young and inexperienced.

Exactly this time last week, I shared a post on End of Financial Year. I’ve been wanting to share about the Good News on LinkedIn. (Just in case you haven’t come across LinkedIn, it is a business-oriented social networking service. My Career Advisors have been asking us (uni students) to get LinkedIn because “it’s not who you know but who knows you.”)

Anyway,s back to my story, after posting the EOFY article I felt that God was telling me that this was a good opportunity for me to share about God on LinkedIn. But I felt scared and worried. “Why should I be doing it? Can’t you ask someone else to do it instead? Anyways, who am I to tell these professionals what to do? They won’t listen to me anyway and they’ll probably rebuke me.” Yeah, I sound like Moses don’t I?

From experience I knew that arguing with God will get me to nowhere. Learning from Jonah, I know no matter how hard I try to run away, God will make me go back to square 1. (I’m sure it wasn’t a coincidence that my group was given the story of Jonah to perform on Skit Night. So Thank You God! ^^)

Just as Jesus draws on the strength He gets from spending time with the Father (Re: Box 1), I decided to spend time alone with God. (That night my parents were out watching my sister’s performance.) I just got down to my knees and prayed out loud. I wanted God to give me the strength, guidance and courage to do His will.

Then I went on Instagram to see if there were any encouraging words from God. Wow! God never fails me! As I was scrolling through my News Feed I saw this!

You a difference.png

Dayspring posted this “Hey, you. Just in case you forget or you’ve started to doubt: you were created to make a difference!”

I also felt that God was telling me, “Why do you fear men rather than God? Why do you worry about what other people think of you when you should focus on what the King of kings have asked you to do.”

Christian Quotes 34.png

I’m so glad for God’s timely messages! God even prompted the blogger (whom I based his article to write my EOFY article) to like my article. This gave me the courage to share it on LinkedIn!

After posting on LinkedIn, I decided to share that article with my CPA Manager. I just received an email today around 3pm, she said she enjoyed reading my EOFY post! 🙂

I’m just so amazed at how God is always there for us and He will give us the strength to do His will!

Looking back at my Spiritual Gifts post, evangelism wasn’t in my top 3! But that’s ok, when He calls us, He will equip us! 🙂

If you’re not sure what your Spiritual Gifts are, you can check out:

http://giftstest.com/test

How Do I Uncover My Spiritual Gifts?

Let me end with this song “We will Not be Shaken” which greatly encourages me! As long as we put our Trust in God, we don’t have to be afraid! Because He has overcome! 🙂

See you soon for Part 3! Can’t wait! ^^

Annalisa

***********************************************************************

The above article is based on the following Qs discussed during OCF Winter Camp 2016:

  1. What does “box 2” currently look like for you? Do you have a specific job or ministry that you feel you are doing to serve God? Describe it.
  2. What challenges come to you as you do it?
  3. To what extent is your box 1 providing strength, guidance, and energy for your box 2? Do you find yourself needing help with identity, guidance, refreshment and courage to do what you need to do? To what extent do you get those things from God?
Leave a Reply

