Weakness + Strength = Perfection

Wow!I can’t believe it’s been exactly one week since I’m back from the OCF Winter Camp 2016!

This year’s OCF Winter Camp theme is on Weakness + Strength = Perfection, which is based on 2 Corinthians 12:9-10.  I’m so thankful that I had the opportunity to #findingthatperfection during my time at camp! There were a couple of times when I was physically unwell and didn’t think I was able to help lead the group. But it was during those times when God spoke to me through the theme verse. “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

OCF Winter Camp Theme

OCF Winter Camp 2016 Logo designed by the wonderful camp committee! 🙂

After coming back from camp, so much has happened in the space of one week! I attended a CPA workshop the very next day where I had the opportunity to learn from the Chief Operating Officer of CPA about his accounting journey so far. Despite his very busy schedule, he inspired and encouraged all of us (future accountants) to give back to the community.  Over the last weekend, I had extra shifts (which I am super grateful for), helped out with the church’s worship team and had a meeting where we planned for the upcoming youth group social event & workshop.

Despite my busyness I was reminded of what I’ve learnt during my  4 days + 3 nights at camp. We learnt about The Four Boxes which is based on Jesus Christ’s Ministry on Earth. Today I will share with you all about Box 1 – Time with God.

Jesus found Affirmation, Direction, Refreshment and Courage when He spent time alone with the Father. If Jesus needed time away from the crowd to pray, how much more do we as children of God need to take time out from our busy schedules to spend time alone with our Heavenly Father through prayer and devotion?

I will share about my personal experience on some of the questions that were discussed during group time.

  • Can you recall a time when you were exhausted? How did you fix it?
  • Have you experienced struggles where it’s hard to get alone time or personal space? How have you handled it? What might it mean for you to “dismiss the crowd” and “make them get into the boat”?

Just before Winter Camp, I was so busy and exhausted with exam preparation and exams itself. I haven’t even had the chance to start my  own revision when a number of my friends/classmates asked me for exam prep advice/help on revision questions (some of them were the same questions). I was overwhelmed as I wanted to help them but at the same time I need to get myself ready for the exams. So how can I “dismiss the crowd” and have some alone time?

I decided to go to uni to study because I was pretty unproductive at home. That day the weather was really good which was a big contrast from the gloomy weather the day before. So I decided to cross the road to have my lunch while enjoying this beautiful scenery.

Matilda Bay.jpg

Psalm 23 came to mind while I was having my lunch

During the months of May & June, I’ve been seeing a lot of posts on Instagram as well as on Facebook. God has been telling me to “Be Still”. At first I didn’t know what He meant. Yes I was busy but I’ve been feeling God’s peace during this stressful period. So why do You still need me to “Be Still”?

Well, that day I finally understood what He meant. I’ve been so busy studying, attending events & faithfully serving Him that I haven’t had a chance to properly let my body rest.

I’m glad that “He leads me beside quiet waters and makes me lie down in green pastures”. (Psalm 23:2) That was exactly what I did. I enjoyed my short nap despite the hustle and bustle of the cars passing by behind me.

Indeed, He “refreshes my soul”. That was a much needed nap. And it gave me the energy to stay on for 2 music graduation recitals that afternoon.

God also gave me the idea to invite my friends to a study group session where we can discuss the questions and prepare for the exams.

Thank You Lord for helping me to “Be Still” in your presence. Amen.

Indeed, prayer can refresh us!

Yes, it can be tempting sometimes to skip our personal time with God because we have endless “To-Do List” but…

time spend alone with god is never wasted.jpg

Stay tuned as I’ll share about Boxes 2-4 in the next few days! ^^

Blessings,

Annalisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

