A Reflection on Cease Striving and Know

Hello again! Hope you enjoyed yesterday’s post! 🙂

So today’s post is kinda related to MY REFLECTION – LOOKING BACK AT HOW IT ALL GOT STARTED. You can consider it as Part 2 of how my blog got started.

You probably remember my 1st ever article “Cease Striving and Know” that I published on my blog. Well, today is my reflection on what I’ve learnt during that part of my journey in life.

You probably recall the questions from ODJ that prompted me to share my experience. If not, here’s a reminder:

The article on 20th March 2016 “Beautiful Captivity” ended by challenging the readers to think of a situation that we desperately wanted to escape and how this situation might glorify God and eventually bring about joy.

Cease Striving 2

Here we go…

The health problem that I suffered for about 1 month was actually skin allergy due to dust mite! (I never had skin allergy before so this was very unexpected!)

During that time I visited 3 different doctors at my university’s medical centre. At one point, my skin allergy got so bad that one of the Dr. prescribed steroids for me (I even had to go through unwanted side-effects 😦 ) Anyways, I’m all good now! 🙂

I feel bad that my parents had to go through such a stressful time as well! On top of their usual workloads/commitments, they were busy cleaning, vacuuming the whole house and brought the mattress out into the sun to kill the dust mites (while I was still at uni)! So, I am super grateful and thankful to God for blessing me with such loving and caring parents! ❤ I couldn’t have asked for better parents! =)

Also, I’m very thankful to OCFers for all your encouragement when I posted my testimony on the fb group page. If it wasn’t for you guys, I don’t think I would have the courage to take the next step of faith when God asked me to share my testimony with the rest of the world!! So THANK YOU SO MUCH! ❤

Even though I was disappointed that I wasn’t able to join you guys at the OCF Easter Camp due to my sickness & 3 assignments! I was delighted to see OCFers from Curtin & Murdoch combining with us (UWA)! It felt like OCF Easter Camp came to me! =)

28131-cc_cat_faith_fears.jpg

Faith.jpg

Amen! 🙂

And to everyone else for “Liking” my testimony on my profile, THANK YOU! 🙂

And of course, to all my prayer warriors out there, A MASSIVE THANK YOU TO YOU TOO! Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to think about me and pray for me! I could feel God’s presence, His peace, comfort and strength as I go through those hard times! 🙂

30617-cm-God-tougher-social.png

12512234_10153465874312681_6063235781189381716_n.jpg

Psalm 61:2

When God prompted me to share about His greatness in my life, my first reaction to God was like, “God, this is awkward for me. Do I really have to share this?? It’s quite personal!”

But I felt that the more I try to argue with God, the more restless I was. When I finally gave in to God and told Him, “Let your will be done!” I finally felt at peace. (Though a bit tired after waking up at 3am, I was very excited to start off my new blog! Even though I had no idea where/how to get it started, I’m thankful to whoever who invented Google (haha I should Google this right?), it pretty much answered all my questions about blogging!) =)

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

I thank God (as crazy as it may sound) for allowing me to suffer with Him, (at that time it was leading up to Easter)! I feel that my faith has rise as I learn to depend more on God and trust that in His time everything will be beautiful!

Hardest Battles.jpg

Indeed, the song “Jesus Draw Me Ever Nearer” by Getty is so true! ( I included the song/video below, so check it out and sing along!) =)

May this journey bring a blessing,
May I rise on wings of faith;
And at the end of my heart’s testing,
With Your likeness let me wake.

Romans 8:28  

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Blessing in disguise.jpg

Sometimes life’s challenges and difficult days are actually blessings in disguise. As we go through hard seasons, God can use them to mold and grow us. He told the exiles that He would “build them up and not tear them down” (Jeremiah 24:6). It wasn’t a time to weep, but one to rejoice. God took something meant for evil and turned it around for good. He does the same for you and me today! – Remi Oyedele

A prayer for when you want to give up.jpg

Related songs: 

 

Related article: Q&A – Why does God allow suffering?

testimony-definition.png

Some questions for my readers to think about:

  1. What’s your testimony/your story? (Doesn’t have to be dramatic, to have impact. God can use whatever situations, no matter how big or small for HIS GLORY!) 🙂 [Still stuck on ideas, you can check out: https://www.cru.org/train-and-grow/share-the-gospel/evangelism-principles/how-to-tell-your-story-worksheet.html]
  2. Where is your faith being called into action today?
  3. What has sometimes held you back from a bold step of faithful action?
  4. How can true faith help you move forward? 🙂
5 thoughts on “A Reflection on Cease Striving and Know

Leave a Reply

